"So if the Son sets you free, you are free indeed."  John 8:36






Thoughts for
Family Members
of Alcoholics




Love Inventory

Following is the passage of scripture found in 1 Corinthians concerning "perfect love." As a test/inventory of how you are doing in the area of loving, insert "I am" before each statement, i.e., "I am" always patient, "I am" always kind. For further understanding of biblical principal concerning love, you will find definitions included with this inventory. The only one who ever passed this test/inventory was the LORD JESUS CHRIST Himself.  This is not meant to bring condemnation on us, but God's standard must be presented so we can begin to see what areas we need to pray about. We must also realize it is not just our actions we need to look at but our attitudes and thoughts as well.

In addition to this test, you may want to take the time to re-write 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 in your own words to give further insight into your Fourth Step - Love/Inventory.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self- seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8


  1. Patience - having the capacity to put up with the pain and trouble without complaining.
  2. Kind - sympathetic when needed, helpful, friendly, thoughtful and gentle.
  3. Envy - feel malice toward others who have something I would like to have whether it is material, spiritual, physical or otherwise.
  4. Boast - brag or make exaggerated claims about oneself.
  5. Proud - self centered, includes overindulgence of oneself.
  6. Rude - very impolite or unpleasant.
  7. Self seeking - a means to manipulate in order to get one's needs met.
  8. Easily angered - immediate frustration when hurt or treated wrong.
  9. Records of wrongs - never forgiving and always bringing up the wrong again and again.
  10. Delight in evil - find pleasure in wickedness or things contrary to God.
  11. Protects- shields, defends against attack whether verbal or physical.
  12. Trusts - believes.
  13. Hopes - looks forward with positive anticipation and does not dwell on the past.
  14. Perseveres - always sticks it out, working hard and continuously despite obstacles and difficulties.
  15. Fail - forgets to consider another, disappoints, suddenly abandons.

Newsletter Meetings & Events About A/C Site Map Contact Us
Home Substance Abuse Adult Children Family Members Prison Ministry

Copyright © 1977-2001 Alcoholics for Christ®, All Rights Reserved
This site was created and is maintained by EZROM®